Belle of Amherst

This was Emily's bedroom window in Amherst.

I went to Belle of Amherst this afternoon, put on by 2nd Story Theatre. The woman who played Emily Dickinson was absolutely wonderful. Despite the fact that it’s a one-woman play with very few props, it didn’t drag for a moment. It reminded me of my visit to Amherst last fall all by myself, where I meandered around Emily’s home and gardens and found her grave. She is an amazing soul, and I like to think that she’s still out there playing with words.

Here is a ProJo review.

Leave a Reply

