Weekly photo challenge: Journey

Bill, Emily, Julie and Mallory about 20 years ago ... quite a journey!

The photo and the poem journey back in time …

 

Save My Life

Mallory’s bedroom door is closed,

but I can hear the music from my old LPs.

She has salvaged our turntable and the past.

“Save my life, I’m goin’ down for the last time”

from Flat as a Pancake by Headeast, circa 1980,

spins round and round on the warped vinyl.

Mallory’s high-pitched voice tries to match the lead singer’s.

Then I am humming and bumping around the kitchen.

I am back in that one-piece jumpsuit that Bill once loved,

spritzing the Charlie and slicking on Bonnie Bell lip gloss.

It is “disco” time, Saturday Night Fever,

the double bump and Donna Summers all over again:

“We danced and we danced and we danced”

with the lights flickering at our feet.

“Save my life –”

The music above stops abruptly.

Soon, Dave Matthews’ sad whine slips downstairs,

and I go back to my ironing.

7 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Journey

  1. A age of music I know little about but still I could relate to how musical memories bring back wonderful moments. “One, two, three o’clock, rock….We’re going to rock around the clock tonight.” Have fun on your trip back.

    1. I remember your story about the dance place out in the country. I loved that story. Wish it would have still been there when I was growing up. We had to do our dancing to the “Beer Barrel Polka” at the Avalon Ballroom in Remsen while sloshing across the spilled beer and sloe gin Cokes. 🙂

  2. Funny I don’t remember that jumpsuit….because I remember everything else, especially that Head East song. I think we wore that album out. Bruce transferred all our albums to the computer. Think I’m gonna find that one, make a new summer cd so I can roll the windows down, sing loud and remember all the fun we had. 🙂

    1. LOL, Chris! That pantsuit was denim and a bit short for my long-waisted figure, so a tad bit uncomfortable. But I loved it. Yes, I was surprised when that song played on the turntable. But even that was a long time ago now. So glad to share those memories with you!

Leave a Reply

