Weekly photo challenge: Friendship

Image
My first friend was my little sister Nancy, who still makes me laugh. Here we are on our first night upstairs in a big bed, where we froze in the winter with frost on the windows, and I was always so scared that something was either under bed or in the closet. 

Choosing a Swimsuit

 For Nancy Meylor Sinnwell

Flecks of turquoise, magenta and purple
stir from the bottom of a drawer

filled with functional white gym socks
and practical navy and black hose.

I tug out the old Bobby Brooks swimsuit
to consider its fate one more time.

But again, I fold the suit and stash it
in the back of the drawer where bits

of color splash up to beckon memory.
And I see you gape at me and laugh

in a pool in Hot Springs,South Dakota,
ten years ago on a family vacation.

We slip into warm bubbling water
together in our wild-hued swimsuits.

Two grown women, two sisters,
who see each other once a year,

who have bought the same gaudy pattern
in humdrum malls a thousand miles apart.

But we both know there are no great
mysteries in these choices, these colors.

Years of matching winter coats, hand-me-
down uniforms, Christmas nightgowns,

Easter dresses and JC Penney saddle shoes
have fused our taste and style into one.

So I save this piece of nylon and Lycra
beneath the everyday layers of life

as a reminder of how we once dressed alike,
despite our desires to be different.

And how every once in awhile life dives
deep and splashes us with turquoise.

Leave a Reply

