Weekly photo challenge: Companionable

“I was out for stars …”

Robert Frost was most at home with words, I think. This was his home near Middlebury, VT, which I visited when I was at Breadloaf for a student writing weekend. These were the books he was reading, his rocking chair, the window he looked out of every day.

I would say words are my refuge, too. They are good companions to have. Whether falling into the pages of a book or walking on a tightrope from line to line as I work on a poem, I am most at ease with words. I’m not a hermit by any means, but when I need to get away, I really don’t have to go anywhere. As long as I have a book nearby, I am gone.

I went to the library today, one of my favorite places on earth. Wherever I am, I usually search out the local library. I like knowing it is there, just waiting for me.

Anyway, I went to the library today to return some books — adamant that I would not get more because I have several at home already. But wouldn’t you know it? There was “The Burgess Boys” by Elizabeth Strout, just waiting for me. I couldn’t resist. It’s here waiting patiently for me to get started.

 

One thought on “Weekly photo challenge: Companionable

Leave a Reply

