Weekly Photo Challenge: Room

Weekly Photo Challenge: Room

This is a photo of my parents’ living room in their home in Marcus, Iowa. The carpet was 1980s orange. The curtains (according to the stories I heard) were sewn by my great-aunt, my grandmother’s sister. My great-grandparents lived in this house many years before my father and mother bought it and retired here.

On this day we moved all the furniture on the front and side lawns for my dad’s house sale. It was a beautiful September day in 2010, and the day after that we cleaned the last things out of the house and closed the door forever. My father died in January 2013, and I have not returned to Marcus since. I hope to do that this summer sometime.

When I took this photo, I remember how the sun poured into the room, and how it was so quiet inside. I remember the muffled sound of the auctioneer as he sold away the things of my parents’ life together.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Room

  1. I remember the wavy glass in the window, the wakes of my grandparents that were held in house, the huge gatherings of extended family on holidays. But at some point, a door closes forever. Just memories remain as we move on toward the time when our doors will close. I would like to go back again, rent a car, go to the cemetery, drive through the town, go out to the farm. I would come and go without anyone knowing. I expect the house I grew up in has fallen down by now. Thanks for your memories.

Leave a Reply

